Carolyn Kilby named 2014 C. Tom Taylor Award recipient

Award recognizes outstanding contributions to electric cooperative member services

Indiana Electric Cooperatives named Carolyn Kilby the recipient of the 2014 C. Tom Taylor Award. Kilby, manager of marketing, communications and office services at Parke County REMC, was presented the award during the Marketing, Member Services and Communicators (MMSC) professional section fall meeting on Oct. 17.

In addition to her role at the electric cooperative, Kilby has served on the board of the Community Action Program of Western Indiana, is a past officer of MMSC, Touchstone Energy® Camp and Mainstreet Rockville, is active with the Parke County Chamber of Commerce, and more.

“Carolyn always goes above and beyond what is asked of her. She always sees the good in others and the value they bring to a project. She always does what is in the best interest of her electric cooperative,” said nominator Peg Minnicus. “Carolyn is a leader that we should all wish to follow.”

The award is presented annually to an Indiana electric cooperative member services employee who has demonstrated excellence in leadership, attitude and commitment to electric cooperative principles. The award is named for the award’s first recipient and longtime Boone REMC member services representative, C. Tom Taylor, who lived by the philosophy of “non sibi, sed aliis” – not for self, but for others.