Cathy Racicot named 2021 Tom Taylor Award recipient

Award recognizes outstanding contributions to electric cooperative member services

L to R: Steve Moore, Harrison REMC Business Manager;
Cathy Racicot; David Lett, Harrison REMC CEO.

Indiana Electric Cooperatives named Cathy Racicot the recipient of the 2021 Tom Taylor Award. Racicot, communications manager and member service supervisor at Harrison REMC, was presented the award during the Marketing, Member Services and Communicators (MMSC) professional section fall meeting Oct. 14.

“Cathy’s ability to stay positive regardless of the situation has carried over into the cooperative and in her interactions with our members,” said David Lett, CEO of Harrison REMC. “She represents our cooperative with strong leadership, a positive attitude and a community. She takes it upon herself to provide excellent leadership at both the cooperative and in the community.”

One nominator commented, “She always puts others first and truly cares for those around her. She is a model employee of an electric cooperative and an outstanding member of the community. She would’ve made Tom Taylor, the namesake of this award, proud.”

The award is presented annually to an Indiana electric cooperative member services employee who has demonstrated excellence in leadership, attitude and commitment to electric cooperative principles. The award is named for the award’s first recipient and longtime Boone REMC member services representative, C. Tom Taylor, who lived by the philosophy of “non sibi, sed aliis” – not for self, but for others.