Electric cooperatives to honor ‘power and hope’ of Indiana youth

Indiana’s electric cooperatives and their statewide magazine, Electric Consumer, are accepting applications for awards that recognize the community spirit of Indiana’s youth.

The Youth Power and Hope Awards program honors students in fifth through eighth grades who are leaders in their communities and whose parents live on electric cooperative lines in Indiana.

Five winners will be selected to travel to Indianapolis in December to be recognized and attend a special program in their honor. In addition, winners will be featured in Electric Consumer.

“One of the founding principles of all Indiana electric cooperatives is a commitment to community,” said Rick Coons, CEO of Indiana Electric Cooperatives. “We are proud to be a part of recognizing the community service efforts our youth.”

Past award recipients include students who have initiated a coat drive for the underprivileged, supported patients at Riley Hospital for Children, worked with special needs children, volunteered at a local animal shelter, raised money for the American Cancer Society, and more.

Applicants must submit an application form, examples of how they have been involved in their local communities, and a reference letter from a trusted adult. Visit electricconsumer.org/?p=230 for an application and to learn about past award recipients. Applications are due Friday, Oct. 2.


Basketball star Luke Zeller to be featured speaker

Luke Zeller, former professional basketball player and 2005 Indiana Mr. Basketball, will be the featured speaker at the 2015 Youth Power and Hope Awards presentation in December.

Zeller is president of DistinXion, a non-profit organization that integrates character building and sports training to help kids grow as athletes and individuals.

The top five applicants will be invited to attend the Indiana Electric Cooperatives annual meeting Dec. 8 where they will receive their awards and attend a private recipients’ reception with Zeller. Zeller will speak to the award recipients about his passion for encouraging young people to be their best.